top of page

Mama Made Me My Lady Raised Me

He stood tall as a man did

The base in his voice was masculine

His appearance was what my expectation of what a man should be

But somehow I found myself being his teacher of responsibility

Looking past his imperfections caused me to fall in love blindly

My own two eyes relied on his potential

Foolishly believing every “I love you” meant there would be a forever for us two

It wasn’t until I realized that it is I who’s guiding him on how to love a woman

Yes his mother created him but I am now raising him to be a man of substance

Never minding what I was receiving was nothing of abundance

Piece by piece slowly losing all of me to maintain his stability

Establishing his foundation because his own mama coddled him since his creation

And in a blink of an eye he selfishly walks away with all of my sanity

With the audacity to blame me for the reason of our ending

But he’ll always be that man that’ll reflect this saying

Mama made me my lady raised me

And the woman that follows behind me needs to make sure she thanks me

Because the man she will know him to be is all because of me!


bottom of page